Author Topic: Roland BK7M Module  (Read 8068 times)

Offline Bernie9

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Roland BK7M Module
« on: March 30, 2011, 10:05:08 AM »
Dan
It appears this new module would work on the vArranger. What to you think ?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNx1hR6t9TY
Bernie

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2011, 11:20:47 AM »
If you like Roland sounds, I think it should be better to buy a Roland expander only like the SD 50
http://www.thomann.de/fr/cakewalk_mobile_studio_canvas_sd_50.htm

It will be cheaper

Dan

Offline Bernie9

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2011, 09:24:17 PM »
I really prefer Ketron sounds but I like to look at the new gear anyway.

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2011, 09:44:34 PM »
Me too :)

Offline Lylo

  • vArranger
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Gender: Male
  • moderationforum.blogspot.fr
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2011, 08:27:58 AM »
I can give my opinion on the bk7m soon because my father go buy it this monday

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 04:10:57 PM »
I do own the Roland BK-7M and find it very interesting. 
I have not tried to use it with vArranger. Dan, would that
work - and exactly how would you hook them together?

Deane

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2011, 04:30:33 PM »
Yes Deane.

Do you still have it?

You can plug the BK7M USB to the computer.

And select the BK7M on the vArranger's MIDI OUT1

vArranger will then drive the BK7M synth module  (GS or GM mode)

I am always open to add more compatibility with new devices, if needed.

Dan

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2011, 04:47:25 PM »
Yes Dan, I still have my BK-7M.  What are the cable
hookups and do I still need the XG Synth program with it?
Deane

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2011, 04:57:31 PM »
You do not need the XG synth anymore.

You only plug the USB cable between the BK7m and the computer.

Also your Roland A800 USB cable to the computer.

And the KB7m audio to the BOSE speakers

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2011, 05:12:59 PM »
Dan,
I have the BK-7M connected to my computer it does show up in
the midi selection window - what midi in do I use now?
Deane
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 05:34:41 PM by Deane »

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2011, 06:26:12 PM »
The midi in is your master keyboard A800
The Midi out is the BK7M

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2011, 06:29:34 PM »
Dan,
That is what I thought and tried that combo but get no sound from the keyboard at all.  I deleted the version of varranger we had tweaked and reloaded a clean version - selected the midi ports as you suggested but still have no sound from the keyboard - or varranger - only the BK-&M.

I am off to a gig now and will be back around 11PM your time.  If that is not to late perhaps we can get together about that time.

Deane

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2011, 07:17:15 PM »
Ok Deane, I will connect on your computer.

Offline Dan

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3520
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #13 on: May 25, 2011, 11:10:31 PM »
I just post here 2 pictures that Deane just sent me with his Roland A800pro and his Bk-7m :)

ps : You have to be logged to see the pictures

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #14 on: May 25, 2011, 11:35:13 PM »
Well Dan got it all going and with a little try this and try that on the BK7M things came together and the sound of VA with the BK7M was really good.

Can't wait to get the SD2.

Deane

Offline Bernie9

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2011, 09:40:23 AM »
Deane
I am glad you have gained a little ground with the BK7m.  I figured you really should have a module.  Keep her going.
Bernie

Offline leeclw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #16 on: May 27, 2011, 07:07:24 AM »
Hi Deane,

Possible to record some yamaha styles driven by vArranger on the BK7m, so we can have a listen?

Thanks.

Offline ivan68

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2011, 10:13:12 AM »
So, how is the Roland Module? How does it sound? Is it comparable to SD2?

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2011, 11:57:17 PM »
I Recorded a few samples of Roland's BK-7M.  vArranger was not
used in these recordings - just the Roland module.  The samples are pretty simple in order to show off the module - not the playing.

It sounds pretty good with vArranger too but I have not recorded anything with that setup yet.

Try this new link:

http://www.box.net/shared/tgdvee8ept



Deane
« Last Edit: June 16, 2011, 03:50:42 PM by Deane »

Offline Lylo

  • vArranger
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Gender: Male
  • moderationforum.blogspot.fr
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #19 on: June 16, 2011, 10:17:13 AM »
The link is broken or the folder is not shared.

Offline jimmiez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2012, 06:59:02 PM »
Hi Deane-what do you have plugged into your MacBook pro?  I see one is to the USB but the other one I can't tell. Is that a special chord you have yo connect the Roland 800 and the Bk7 to the computer?  Thanks

Offline Deane

  • vArranger
  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 302
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2012, 01:35:02 AM »
Jimiez,
What you are seeing in the picture connected to my MacBook Pro is a 4 port USB hub.   

deane

Offline jimmiez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Roland BK7M Module
« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2012, 02:50:56 AM »
I see it now. Thanks